Structure & Governance

We are fortunate to have a hard-working board and a great group of patrons who support the work of the busy executive.


Sue Holloway, Director

Sue has been a professional economist since 1997, when she joined the Government Economic Service. She worked at the Office for National Statistics, managed the GES, and most recently was Deputy Chief Economist at the Department for International Development.  She is also a qualified management accountant, and in the past has worked overseas for TEAR Fund and been a trustee at Traidcraft.

Karen Hancock, Economist

Karen joined PBE in July 2013 from her role as Chief Economist and Deputy Director at the Department for Education, having joined the department (then Education and Skills) in 2001. She has worked in a number of departments, including the Food Standards Agency and the Scottish Executive Health Department, and has been a researcher and lecturer at the University of Glasgow, University of Strathclyde and University of Lund in Sweden. In her spare time Karen is a keen runner and athletics coach, and holds the British women over 50s record for 20 miles (an impressive 2:15:18).


Martin Brookes

Martin is one of the founders of Pro Bono Economics. He previously served as Director of Research and then Chief Executive of New Philanthropy Capital for 10 years, where he championed the importance of understanding impact in the third sector. Before joining NPC, Martin worked for 13 years as an economist at Goldman Sachs and, prior to that, the Bank of England. He stepped into his current role as CEO of the charity Tomorrow's People in early 2015.

Sir Dave Ramsden

Sir Dave Ramsden, CBE, has worked at HM Treasury for over twenty years, where he is now Chief Economic Adviser, Director General Economics and a member of the board. He has been Head of the Government Economic Service since 2007 (held jointly until 2010) and serves on the councils of the Economic and Social Research Council and the Royal Economic Society. He was knighted for service to economic policy making in the 2015 New Year honours list.

Andy Haldane

Andy Haldane is the Chief Economist at the Bank of England, and Executive Director, Monetary Analysis and Statistics. He is one of PBE's two founders. Before taking up his current role, Andy held a number of positions within the Bank’s monetary and financial stability directorates, where he has worked for over twenty years. Andy has written extensively on domestic and international monetary and financial stability, authoring around 100 articles and three books.

Matthew Brumsen

Matthew Brumsen works as an independent consultant in the wealth management industry, offering strategic advice to institutions and individuals. He previously worked at UBS as head of UK wealth management and a member of their Group Managing Board. Prior to that, Matthew spent nine years at Goldman Sachs having started his career as an economist at the Bank of England.

Jo Tilley-Riley

Jo has worked with a broad range of charities and social sector organisations to deliver PR, digital and stakeholder communications campaigns. She is currently Strategic Communications Manager for Big Society Capital, and before that was Deputy Managing Director of Champollion Digital and a Senior Consultant at Champollion. Before moving into communications, Jo was Director of Strategy & Funding for The Irene Taylor Trust 'Music in Prisons' for five years. She is currently Chair of Relate Bromley.

Lynne Berry

Lynne Berry, OBE, has been the Chief Executive of WRVS, the General Social Care Council, the Equal Opportunities Commission and the Charity Commission. She is currently Vice Chair of  British Waterways, transforming it into the Canal and River Trust, a Senior Fellow at CASS Business School and an associate of Civil Exchange.

Nicola Pollock

Nicola became chief executive of the John Ellerman Foundation in September 2011, after 11 years at the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation where she was, most recently, director of grantmaking. Prior to joining the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, Nicola was operations manager at the National Lottery Board North East and worked with the Citizen’s Advice Bureau.


Kate Barker
David Giampaolo
Sir Alan Budd
Bronwyn Curtis
Gavyn Davies
Sir Howard Davies
Lord John Eatwell
Rachel Lomax
Lord Gus O’Donnell
Jim O’Neill
Robert Peston
Vicky Pryce
Lord Adair Turner
Sir John Vickers
Sushil Wadhwani
Martin Wolf